Sousse and Museum

Musuem of sousse

Musuem of sousse

Together with Carthage and Utica, Hadrumetum was one of the oldest cities of ancient Africa. Ancient sources consider it a Phoenician foundation, which is, according to the Roman historian Sallust[1], older than Carthage. Simple Maritime and Commercial relay at the beginning, it had become one of the largest cities in Africa when Rome destroyed Carthage in 146 BC. We know that Hadrumetum sided with Rome and had thus become a free city and friend of the Roman people. This freedom allowed it to manage its own affairs according to its own customs and traditions, and placed it outside the power (potestas) of the provincial governor.

Sousse, in Tunisian vernacular “Soussa,” is a toponym of Arabic origin whose meaning remains obscure. Its ancient name, having obvious Semitic tones, is Hadrumetum. Formerly capital of the Roman province of Byzacena,[2] Sousse is today the capital of the Tunisian Sahel, better known as “the Pearl of the Sahel.” From the origins up to the present, human occupation there has never been interrupted, which resulted in the quasi total disappearance of its ancient remains. It is undoubtedly in Sousse, more than anywhere else in Tunisia, that preventive archeology debuted through the efforts of the Sousse Archaeological Society founded in 1902. The new constructions and major projects were always pretexts to start systematic excavations; the destruction caused by the World War II bombings had only stimulated this activity.

 

The court of the Museum of Sousse

The court of the Museum of Sousse

The most beautiful archaeological objects saved then recovered are displayed in the new museum found in the basement of the court of the Kasbah, a monument completed in the 9th century. Inaugurated in June 2012.

Overview of the museum of sousse

Overview of the museum of sousse

 

 

[1] Guerre de Jugurtha, 19.1.

[2] Province of Roman Africa created around 295 following the fragmentation of the great province of proconsular Africa.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

سوسة و متحفها

musee sousse by night

متحف سوسة

كانت حضرموت، بالإضافة إلى قرطاج و أوتيك، إحدى أقدم مدن إفريقيا القديمة. وهي تعد في المصادر القديمة إحدى المدن التي أسسها الفينيقيون والتي قد تكون، حسب المؤرخ اللاتيني سالوست[1]، أقدم من قرطاج. وقد انتقلت من مجرد مركز تبادل بحري و تجاري في البداية لتصبح من أهم المدن بأفريقيا عندما دمرت روما قرطاج سنة 146 قبل الميلاد. ونعلم أن حضرموت قد ساندت روما وأصبحت في المقابل مدينة حرة وصديقة للشعب الروماني، واستطاعت بفضل هذه الحرية أن تمارس الحكم طبقا لعاداتها وتقاليدها، كما جعلتها غير خاضعة لقوة potestas حاكم المقاطعة.

 

يعود اسم مدينة سوسة، كما تسمى باللهجة التونسية، إلى أصل عربي غير أن معناه يظل غامضا، واسمها القديم ذو الإيقاعات السامية الواضحة هو حضرموت.  كانت في القديم عاصمة المقاطعة الرومانية بيزاسان، أما اليوم فهي عاصمة الساحل التونسي، و تعرف أكثر باسم “جوهرة الساحل”. وبما أن تواجد الإنسان في هذا المكان لم ينقطع أبدا منذ العهود القديمة إلى اليوم، فإن آثار المدينة قد اندثرت بشكل يكاد يكون كاملا. و بمدينة سوسة بدأ دون شك، أكثر من أي مكان آخر بتونس، علم الآثار الوقائي بفضل جهود جمعية الآثار بسوسة التي أنشئت سنة 1902. وقد كانت إقامة البناءات الجديدة و أشغال البناء الكبيرة دائما ذريعة للقيام بأعمال تنقيب بطريقة آلية، ولم يزد الدمار الناجم عن القصف في الحرب العالمية الثانية إلا تحفيزا لهذا النشاط .

photos5

ساحة المتحف

يتم عرض أحلى القطع الأثرية التي تم إنقاذها واسترجاعها بالمتحف الجديد بالطابق السفلي بفناء القصبة، وهو معلم أثري أكمل بناؤه في القرن التاسع. يغطي هذا المتحف، الذي دشن في جوان/يونيو 2012، مساحة قدرها حوالي 2000 متر مربع ويحوي مجموعات أثرية يعود تاريخها بالأساس إلى حضرموت القديمة.

image6

متحف سوسة

 Guerre de Jugurtha, 19.1.[1]

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter